Pierpont Community & Technical College Profile | Pierpont C&TC

Pierpont Community & Technical College Profile

Founded in 1974, Pierpont Community & Technical College is a comprehensive community college that strives to enhance the quality of life for the people of north central West Virginia through accessible, affordable, workforce-related training, and quality higher education opportunities.

Pierpont is part of the state’s growing high technology corridor with an area of about 55,000 residents. With an enrollment of nearly 3,000 students, Pierpont offers more than 30 associate degree programs, as well as advanced skill sets and one year certificates.   Through its Center for Workforce Education, Pierpont provides workforce training and community education for its 13-county region.


Pierpont Community & Technical College is one of nine publicly supported two-year institutions of higher education in the state of West Virginia.

The Pierpont Board of Governors is comprised of nine lay/citizen members appointed by the Governor of the State and three institutional members that represent faculty, students, and classified employees and are elected by their respective constituent group. The institution’s twelve-member Board oversees the financial, academic, and service affairs of the College and has full authority to take such actions as it deems necessary or appropriate to accomplish the purposes for which it was formed, specifically to meet the educational and training needs of the community of Pierpont Community & Technical College service district. Although mandated to meet six times a year, the Pierpont Board of Governors customarily approves a monthly meeting schedule of ten times a year. An annual Board of Governors retreat is typically held in December of each year.

Standing Committees of the Pierpont Board of Governors consist of the Audit/Finance Committee, the Marketing Committee and the Regional Academics Committee.  These Committees usually precede the monthly meeting schedule adopted by the Pierpont Board of Governors. The Pierpont Board of Governors also serves as the North Central Advanced Technology Center Advisory Board which meets quarterly.

The members of the Board work cooperatively with the Pierpont Community & Technical College President and administration relative to institutional governance and strategic planning. Under the leadership of the President, administrative council are involved in internal decision-making, continuous planning, and assessment of the strategic goals approved by the Board. Among these are the President’s Cabinet that is comprised of the President, Vice Presidents, and the Executive Assistant to the President.


The Main Campus in Fairmont, WV

Pierpont is headquartered on Locust Avenue in Fairmont, WV.  Sharing a beautiful 120-acre campus with Fairmont State University, Pierpont can offer students the affordability of a community college with the amenities of a university.

Although Pierpont and Fairmont State share a main campus and services, the two institutions have separate accreditations, governing boards, and missions.  

Over the last several years, new buildings and amenities have been added to the Locust Avenue campus.  A new Engineering Technology Building, a residence hall, the Falcon Student Center, and a parking garage have been opened.

The Falcon Center is the hub of campus life at Pierpont. The 126,000 square-foot facility provides an environment where students can comfortably interact with one another while enjoying dining areas, study lounges, and a variety of fitness and wellness programs. The Falcon Center houses the campus bookstore, food court, study lounges, fitness rooms, gymnasiums, aquatics, an indoor track, computer labs, student health services, campus security, and conference centers.

Note: The Fairmont campus is 100 miles from Pittsburgh, PA and 230 miles from Washington, D.C.

Regional Locations

While Pierpont’s administration is headquartered in Fairmont, we offer classes at regional academic campuses and education centers throughout Pierpont´s 13-county service region.

Pierpont's north-central service region is divided into northern and southern service areas. The northern area includes Barbour, Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Monongalia, Preston and Taylor Counties.   The southern service area includes Braxton, Calhoun, Gilmer, Lewis, Randolph, and Upshur Counties.  A range of classes are offered in partnership with technical centers and high schools in many of these counties for traditional, non-traditional, and high school students.

The North Central Advanced Technology Center

Scheduled to open in Fall 2016 in the high technology corridor of Fairmont, the North Central Advanced Technology Center will be the hub of many of Pierpont’s technology programs from the School of Business, Aviation, and Technology, the School of Health Careers, and the School of Workforce Education.

This state-of-the-art facility will offer credit and non-credit training to meet the growing demands of the regional workforce. Students will be prepared to apply for high-demand jobs through hands-on learning offered in dynamic training laboratories, simulators and by experienced educators.

The Gaston Caperton Center in Clarksburg, WV

Pierpont's Gaston Caperton Center campus is located in Clarksburg, WV. The Center is a 36,000 square-foot facility that serves approximately 1,000 students each week from both Pierpont and Fairmont State University. The facility offers courses in Liberal Studies, Business Technology, and the competitive Physical Therapist Assistant program. It also houses computer labs, general meeting rooms, a full-service library, and student lounges.

With dedicated faculty, modern classrooms and instructional facilities, and easy access, the Gaston Caperton Center is a focal point of higher education in Harrison County.

Robert C. Byrd National Aerospace Education Center

The Robert C. Byrd National Aerospace Center, located at the North Central West Virginia Airport in Bridgeport, offers hands-on training from expert faculty members.  The Center's academic programs are part of the School of Business, Aviation and Technology. The Center was established in the fall of 1993 in support of the North Central West Virginia aerospace industry.

Braxton County

The Braxton County Center is located in the Braxton County High School, just off of the I-79 Exit 67.  At this location Pierpont offers a comprehensive LPN program that is designed to allow students to complete their training in just five semesters of evening or weekend classes.

Lewis County

Classes are provided in at the Lewis County Center in the Lewis County High School. General education courses are provided in flexible schedules and the Early Admission Program allows high school students an opportunity to get an advanced start on college.

Monongalia County Technical Education Center (MTEC)

The Pierpont MTEC facility, located at 1000 Mississippi Street in Morgantown, offers general education courses and math and writing tutoring. Pierpont students have free access to our accredited tutoring program which has been certified by the College Reading & Learning Association (CRLA) International Tutor Certification Program.