Pierpont Community and Technical College Faculty Senate Meeting

Wednesday, August 21st, 2024 216 Advanced Technology Center No Teams recording is available for this meeting

I. Roll Call

John Adair	Ironda Campbell	Nick George	Elliott Stricklin
Anthony Anobile	Janet Cole	Brad Gilbert	
Lori Barrett	Jennifer Ellison	Jack Lowe	
Rachel-Plybon Beach	Stephanie Flaherty - Absent	Bryanna Ordiway	
Les Boggess	Lisa Foster	Erika Rush	

Faculty Representatives Present

Business, Aviation, & Technology:			
General Education & Professional Studies:			
Health Sciences:			
ACF Representative:	Vickie Findley		
BOG Representative:	Susan Coffindaffer		
SGA Representative:			
Attending Deans:			

Faculty & Guests:

Call to Order

Senate President Anobile called the meeting to order at 1203 pm in room 216 of the Advanced Technology Center. No virtual meeting option was available per Senate President Anobile's request for in-person attendance to this meeting. Quorum was established and attendance was taken using roll call. Order of the day was established on the agenda.

- I. Welcome by the President
 - A. Senate President Anobile welcomed everyone to the August meeting.

- B. President Anobile thanked faculty and expressed a commitment in his term to timely notifications to all faculty.
- II. Old Business-none discussed
- III. New Business
 - A. **Second reading of the 2024-2025 Faculty Senate Committee List
 - 1. The draft of the proposed 2024-2025 Committee List was reviewed.
 - 2. Changes to the list since 1st reading in May were discussed by President Anobile.
 - a. A resignation in the School of BAT required a change in representation on one committee (Media & Learning), with no replacement identified.
 - b. Changes to numbers of faculty in the School of GEPS required addition of one faculty senator in that school for adequate representation.
 - c. An additional voting representative in the newly elected Senate President's School of GEPS was added.
 - d. An additional volunteer from GEPS for the General Education Committee was added.
 - e. Academic Appeals had a change to one representative from GEPS
 - f. A resignation in the School of HS required change in representation on four committees (Faculty Development and Welfare, General Education, Academic Appeals, and Student Hearing Board)
 - 3. A motion was made by Les Boggess to approve the 2nd reading of the 2024-2025 Faculty Senate Committee List, with updates as discussed and pending one BAT replacement on the Media & Learning Committee. Jack Lowe seconded the motion. Senate President Anobile called the vote which passed unanimously.
 - 4. During the open forum and discussion, a volunteer to fill in the BAT Media & Learning Committee was found.
 - a. With the committee slate then filled, Rachel-Plybon Beach motioned to return to the order of business of Second reading of the 2024-2025 Faculty Senate Committee List. Susan Coffindaffer seconded the motion. Senate President Anobile called the vote which passed unanimously.
 - b. Bryanna Ordiway motioned to approve the 2024-2025 Faculty Senate Committee List with the changes discussed. Ironda Campbell seconded the motion. Senate President Anobile called the vote which passed unanimously.
- IX. Open Forum and Discussion
 - A. VP Plybon-Beach asked about the format of the 2024-2025 Senate meetings, with President Anobile affirming that he wanted to continue Faculty Senate meetings inperson, not virtually.
 - B. Secretary Rush noted that notification of Faculty Senate meeting dates and locations will occur once room reservations are completed. Also, with approval of the new Committee list, each Committee TEAMS membership and ownership will be updated so faculty and chairpersons can access committee files and have a shared online meeting space, if they choose. The Pierpont Faculty Senate website will also be updated with new membership, meeting, and committee information.

X. Announcements:

XI. Adjournment

A. With no further business or announcements, a movement was made by Brad Gilbert to adjourn and seconded by Ironda Campbell. The meeting was adjourned at 12:23 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Erika Rush 2024 – 2026 Pierpont Faculty Senate Secretary